AGM and Presentation Night 2010

AGM and Presentation Night

23rd January 2010

And a great time was had by all. What a night, the biggest club meeting for quite some time with lots of familiar faces amongst the the regulars and it was good to see many turn up for this special night.

The order of the day was to firstly get the formal business out of the way so that we could spend the rest of the night on the presentations and catching up with one another. Notable attendances included Hal Moloney and the Weller family from Nabiac.

Retiring president Geoff Thomas called the meeting to order and then handed the proceedings over to Brian Lawler who declared all current positions vacant and then conducted the election of new office bearers and committee members.

It was no surprise that after several successful years in the chair, Geoff Thomas was unanimously re-elected as president for 2010.

The results of the election being

  • President – Geoff Thomas
  • Vice President – Rod Piggott
  • Secreatary – Vicky Murphy – Welcome back Vicky
  • Assistant Secretary – Peter Howitt-Steven
  • Treasurer – Karen Piggott
  • Membership Secretary – Karen Piggott
  • Club Captain – Tim Wilson
  • Eligibility Officer – Peter Meddows
  • Public Officer – Darval Thomas
  • State Councillor (CAMS) – Christine Bethwaite
  • Officials Co-ordinator – Vicky Murphy
  • Championship Scorer – David Mitchell
  • Vehicle Examiner – Geoff Thomas
  • Editor – John Ashton

Committee Members elected are:

  • Paul O’Neill
  • Christine Cunningham
  • Laurie Cunningham
  • Bill Murphy
  • Andrew Park
  • Ron Fraser

At the conclusion of the election Geoff returned to the chair, despatched General Business and the meeting closed. Then the fun started.

To get the presentations rolling Ron Fraser kicked off with an introduction to the special trophy he has organised. Named the Jim and Ron Pope Trophy in recognition of the outstanding contributions Ron and Jim have made to the club, it is a perpetual trophy that will be awarded to the person considered to have made the most significant contribution to the club in the past year. Ron has himself funded the trophy and has done a superb job with it. Eventually, Ron announced that the recipient of the Jim and Ron Pope Trophy for 2010 is Karen Piggott for her work as Treasurer. Karen has attended most events managing the entries, collecting the fees, hassling the organisers for their expenses and managing the books (no doubt with some help from Rod at the end of year.) So hearty congratulations to Karen and thanks to Ron for his own significant contribution to the club for al these years.

The Club Championship results were then awarded by Club Captain Tim Wilson

Driver’s Championship – The Des West Trophy
1st – Geoff Thomas
2nd – David Mitchell
3rd – Nigel Nash

Navigator’s Championship
1st – Rod Towers
2nd – Phil Challinor
3rd – Jim Williamson

Club Person of the Year
Peter Howitt-Steven (again – Yea Peter !)

Special Mention
Class X Winner Modern Cars newer than 1985
Laurie Cunningham

Once the presentations were over we were able to enjoy catching up with old friends and also establish new contacts and friendships over the excellent and plentiful finger food that was provided by Diggers.